A3S’19: IEEE International Workshop on Automobile Software Security and Safety


The last decade has witnessed an increased level of sophistication within embedded software running on different types of automobiles. Automobiles are classified as critical systems, as their failure could directly impact human safety or lead to loss of valuable assets, making their security and safety a major concern for users and designers. The automobiles or vehicles are primarily software controlled and communicate with each other, the cloud, and the transportation infrastructure via wireless networks. Given that, the underlying software that controls vehicles’ operations and the integrated communication technologies must be safe and secure.

The A3S workshop seeks to bring together researchers and practitioners working toward the improvement of security and safety of software solutions in the automobile sector by discussing recent developments and current challenges and exchanging their research findings and experiences. The workshop welcomes papers and presentations in the field of automobile software, dealing with vehicle software security and safety.


The list of topics includes, but is not limited to:

  • Automobile software vulnerability assessment, risk analysis, attack and threat models
  • Architecture, design, and implementation of secure and safe automobile software
  • Design of secure information systems and software applications for vehicles
  • Vehicle operating system security
  • Availability, reliability, and fault tolerance in automobile software
  • Automobile software testing, verification, and validation
  • Automobile software security and safety evaluation methodologies and metrics
  • Automobile software penetration testing, forensics, events monitoring and auditing
  • Automobile software standardization, certification, and interoperability
  • Secure intra-vehicle, vehicle-to-vehicle, and other vehicular network communications
  • Artificial Intelligence and machine learning for connected and autonomous vehicles
  • Practical experiences, empirical studies, and testbeds for automobile software
  • Industrial experiences and best practices for automobile software development


Authors are invited to submit original unpublished research papers as well as industrial practice papers. Simultaneous submissions to other conferences are not permitted. Detailed instructions for electronic paper submission, panel proposals, and review process can be found at https://qrs19.techconf.org/submission.

The length of a camera ready paper will be limited to eight pages, including the title of the paper, the name and affiliation of each author, a 150-word abstract, and up to 6 keywords. Shorter version papers (up to four pages) are also allowed.

Authors must follow the IEEE Computer Society Press Proceedings Author Guidelines to prepare their papers. At least one of the authors of each accepted paper is required to pay full registration fee and present the paper at the workshop. Arrangements are being made to publish selected accepted papers in reputable journals. Submissions must be in PDF format and uploaded to the conference submission site.


Program Chairs

Ryo Kurachi's avatar
Ryo Kurachi Japan

Nagoya University, Japan

Dennis Kengo Oka's avatar
Dennis Kengo Oka USA

Synopsys, Inc., USA

Mohammad Zulkernine's avatar
Mohammad Zulkernine Canada

Queen’s University, Canada

Publicity Chair

Talal Halabi's avatar
Talal Halabi Canada

Queen’s University, Canada

Program Committee

Onur AltintasToyota InfoTechnology CenterJapan
Jeremy BryansCoventry UniversityUK
Tsvika DaganTel Aviv UniversityIsrael
Mohamad GharibUniversity of FlorenceItaly
Javier GozalvezMiguel Hernández University of ElcheSpain
Bogdan GrozaPolytechnic University of TimișoaraRomania
Giambattista GruossoPolytechnic University of MilanItaly
Jérémie GuiochetUniversity of ToulouseFrance
Talal HalabiQueen’s UniversityCanada
Anwar HaqueWestern UniversityCanada
Mohammad Asadul HoqueEast Tennessee State UniversityUSA
Shahrear IqbalSecurity CompassCanada
Clifford LiemIrdetoCanada
Stefan MurvayPolytechnic University of TimișoaraRomania
Jan PelzlApplied University of Hamm-LippstadtGermany
Miguel SepulcreMiguel Hernández University of ElcheSpain
Alexey VinelHalmstad UniversitySweden
Albert WasefEscryptCanada
Andre WeimerskirchLear CorporationUSA